photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

Canon 20mm

Part of the fun of getting ready for a trip is packing your camera. I have an entry level dSLR, Canon Rebel XTi, and I’m looking forward to taking it with me on an upcoming trip. One day I will graduate from this camera, but for now, this does all of what I need it to do (and I don’t need to go and drop a couple grand on a camera right now). What keeps me from getting antsy about buying a new camera is the interchangeable lenses.

I really love using my 50mm f/1.8, but that may not get packed; neither will my Tamron 17-50mm. I would like something a little wider and that will perform well if stopped down. I also don’t want to have to worry about my equipment or having it lost or stolen. So, I rented a Canon 20mm f2.8 from Borrow Lenses.

This is the second time I’m renting from them and I would highly recommend giving them a try. Their prices are reasonable and they ship quickly. They have a nice selection of lenses and you can reserve in advance. They quickly and promptly respond to emails. I am the type of person that highly values customer service over cost. I will pay a little more for better service.

I won’t have much time to practice wth this lens, but I chose it because I thought it would be wide enough and light enough for me to carry and walk around with. Considering I will mostly be taking landscape photos, this seemed like the right fit. I’m debating, though, about whether I should pack the cheapy kit lens with me, or just take my 50mm. I also wondered whether I should also skip packing my Sony Cybershot and just using the 3MP camera on my iPhone 3Gs as my point and shoot and for short video clips. Hmm, decisions decisions.

Leave a Reply

