photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

To Sketch or Not to Sketch

I came across the above article written by Erik Ford and thought it was a good reminder of what the design process should include whether you have a real client, are creating something for yourself or doing it for a class.  The class I’m taking right now requires I create a CD album cover.  In Week 2, the assignment called for some thumbnails…people are throwing up mock-ups they’ve sloppily put together in Photoshop and I am super intimidated because all I have are some sketches on graph paper.  However, a few more people submitted hand drawn sketches and I felt better.  I don’t do graphic design for a living, but I think most people would agree with me that this step is an important one not to be overlooked.

Leave a Reply

