photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

No Beer, No Work! (Poster)

Seventy-seven years ago, prohibition was repealed for beer.  A popular slogan was, “No Beer, No Work.”  This also happens to be the title of a poem by Ellis Parker Butler and the title of an anti-prohibition song.  All this started when earlier in the week, I googled (ok, so I really “binged”- I don’t know, as much as I love Google, perhaps I need to give Bing more of a chance because I yielded better search results – ok back to the topic) 1920s and Prohibition era posters.  I stumbled across a slideshow put together by the New York times, was inpsired by a few specific photos, and found another photo of a button that started this mini project.  After checking out a few great Photoshop tutorials that helped me achieve the effects I wanted, I created the “No Beer, No Work” poster as a 16×20 and created the button graphic below.  My idea for the poster was that this slogan would have been imprinted, or burned in, on a barrel of beer.  I couldn’t quite figure out how to “warp” all items so that it looked more like a barrel shape – but then I thought – maybe this could have been imprinted on the top of a barrel!  Either way, the here is the final product.

Enjoy the poster, the button – and enjoy a beer!

One response

  1. Nice comp. A good way to warp images is to use the “Transform” tool and select “Warp” or “distort” from the drop-down menu. 🙂

    August 24, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Leave a Reply

