photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

Zurbrugg Memorial Hospital Demolition Site

I took the morning off today to wait for the Directv tech.  The dude (because he never gave me a name) showed up in the first hour of my 8AM-12PM time frame and replaced my satellite (the guy thought something like a bat – yeah! – flew into it damaging it).  At least my HD channels are back and I can  happily watch TV.

So anyways, because I was already going to be late to work, I decided to go to one of the marina’s near my house to see if there was any good photo ops.  Well, nothing inspired me there, but on the way, I saw the old Zurbrugg Memorial Hospital in the process of being demolished – I love the way buildings in a decaying state look.  So on the way out of the marina I drove around the front of the site, pulled over and took some pictures…ehhh. Nothing exciting.  I decided to go around the block and saw people standing outside…some construction workers, some ladies who had one of those car magnets saying they specialized in stained glass, a guy sitting on a stool fixing his shoe.  I was intimidated – and went around the block again.  I was making up my mind NOT to stop when I decided I should or I might regret it.  So I put the car in reverse, parked, got out of my car and walked up to the fence to shoot some pctures.  My thought was, if someone comes at me saying I can’t take pictures, I can kindly argue I’m on public property, and then leave.

Surprisingly, the foreman or whoever saw me and started talking to me about how a photographer (someone with the town’s historical commission I assumed) had been coming around to take pictures of the process and people had come around taking bricks and decorative pieces from this old building that will soon be completely gone.  I chatted with him for a few minutes and after that he said, “You could take a look around if you’d like.”  Really?  So I walked into the site a little more without going too far since a) I was dressed up for work and my shoes! and b) the foreman was keeping an eye on me, making me more conscious of what I was doing.  I must admit, when I see people I get a little intimidated and think they are going to quickly dub me a terrorist if I’m taking pictures of a building or something.  Today showed me however, that sometimes simply kindly asking permission or just being nice and talking to people will allow you to get closer or exactly where you want to be to get your photograph.  Sure, sometimes people will have a problem with you having a camera in their face, so ask.  As I walked away from the site, I wish I would have asked the foreman if I could have taken his portrait, but hey- baby steps.  Out of the about 30 pictures I took, I can’t say anything spectacular came out of it, but it’s practice…and I’m going to try and make an effort to do that more often. Below 3 pictures…1 from the marina and 2 from the demo site.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

2 responses

  1. That worksite is loaded with asbestos and other toxic materials. It’s currently under investigation by the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection because the demolition crew left exposed asbestos onsite and failed to properly dispose of the carcinogen. IOf I were you, I wouldn’t go back there.

    December 1, 2011 at 8:35 am

    • Interesting! Haven’t been back there and I definitely won’t!

      December 5, 2011 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

