photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

My Japan tribute piece

"Japan M8.9" piece that I designed. Inspired by the tribute pieces below.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

 

I was up pretty late – should I say early – Friday when I read John Boardly’s (of ilovetypography) tweet about what he was experiencing at that moment in his home, Japan.  Shortly thereafter,  the twitterverse started to spew tweets and retweets of what was happening in Japan.  An earthquake with a magnitude of 8.9 struck Japan at 0546 GMT; later tsunami waves as high as about 30 feet hit land.  As I finally got to bed at around 3AM,  I thought about how fortunate I was at that moment and sadly thought about  the people of Japan.  I didn’t fully comprehend the devastation that was happening on the other side of the world until later Friday morning when I, again, glued to my twitter stream, started viewing photos, repeatedly saw footage of the moment the quake hit and aerial views of tsunami waves obliterating everything in its path.  I’ll admit, I usually don’t like to watch that kind of stuff…as one tweet I saw earlier today mentioned, it sort of feels voyeuristic and I’m almost ashamed to watch people’s lives be turned upside down as I comfortably sit at my desk; safe, warm, with a roof over my head, knowing my family is ok, etc.

Later on Friday, another graphic designer I follow, Jacob Cass of Just Creative Design posted on his dribble a small tribute, “Japan Tear,” (shown below and available in an .eps and .pdf format on his site).  I saw a lot of other great tribute pieces today (such as that  of James White of Signalnoise.com, I always admire his work, shown below).  I’m no professional designer, but I decided I wanted to create something too inspired by what I had already seen posted on dribble and design blogs.  I headed to Barnes & Noble at lunch to start on my idea (because my “real” job does not involve creating or designing, instead I glamorously provide technical support and system/network administration, I have to find my own creative workspace).  I finally finished the piece only to later have to recreate it when Photoshop decided to crash on me (and of course, I had saved, but not before I made a ton of changes!).  So, above is my tribute piece – it’s the least I can do as my thoughts remain on the people of Japan, wishing them courage, hope and strength in these difficult times.

Image credits: Fuji Cherry Blossoms by britmodtokyo; Vintage Grunge Textures by Princess_of_Shadows.

 

Japan Tear by Jacob Cass of Just Creative Design

Help Japan by James White of Signalnoise.com. This poster will soon be available for purchase with all proceeds being donated to relief work.


2 responses

  1. Many people want to help out, but other than money or being an aid worker, there is another way to help by sending words of support and hope. You can send your message online to school children and emergency workers in Japan via Hope Letters http://hopeletters.wordpress.com/. Hope Letters will translate them into Japanese and deliver them to local organizations for posting/broadcasting (when it is practical and effective to do so). Help give hope!

    March 13, 2011 at 3:38 am

  2. I love it Melissa! Friday really put things into perspective for just how lucky we are.

    March 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

