photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

Earth Hour Poster

Tomorrow, Saturday, March 26th, 2011 at 8:30 PM lights will switch off around the globe to kick off Earth Hour. Earth Hour began in 2007 as a stand against climate change and continues to raise sustainability issues awareness. I remember when I first heard about this a few years back, I convinced my entire family to participate and I ran around the house telling them not to turn on any lights because it was Earth Hour and that by participating we’d be helping our planet. I took a picture of my pitch black home from the outside and proudly submitted that grainy dark image to that year’s Earth Hour flickr pool. It was fun, and I was proud of my small contribution to taking care of our planet.

As Earth Hour 2011 approaches, I decided to create an Earth Hour 2011 poster, inspired by seeing some floating around the interwebs. I had a few ideas sketched out, but eventually, I decided on a more minimalistic design and this is what I came up with.

To learn more about Earth Hour, please visit www.earthhour.org.

Leave a Reply

