photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

Lunchtime blogging: My mini 10K training

Graphic I created

Last month, I registered for the NYRR Women’s only mini 10K (why do they call it a mini 10k when I have to run all 10K of it?)  I’m not a runner at all – perhaps only if I needed to run away from an axe murderer and even then I may think about fighting him off instead – but I decided to take on this challenge with a few of my friends.  I’ve never even walked or ran a 5K, let alone a 10K. I don’t know what I was thinking when I signed up, and forced my sister to do the same, but either way I’m trying to build some stamina so that I could finish the race, even if I’m the last person to cross the finish line.  I downloaded a Couch to 10K app onto my iPhone and have been following that for a third week now.  I figured I’d blog about this latest “hobby” of mine because when I talk about it with others, I don’t quite freak out as much.  When I start to think about it in my head, though, I think, “What if it’s hot? Or even worse – humid? Rainy? What about hills – can i run them?  Will I pass out? Can I even finish 6 miles!?” I’ve been doing most of the “training” outside at a park or around the neighborhood, which I think will give me a better feel of the distance than if I do all my training on a treadmill.  I’ve also decided that I’ll try and take a picture with my phone every day I’m running outside.  My workouts have ranged from 42 minutes, and on some days, will last up to over 70 minutes.  So far I’ve been feeling quite alright after these workouts, sometimes more tired than others, but at this point the Couch to 10k program consists of more time walking than actual jogging.  I covered about 2.5mi the other night on a treadmill and the most I’ve done outside is 2.4 mi in about 45 minutes.  I’m hoping that by race day (and around the same time I’ll be finishing up this program), I can run most of it (in my head I aim for at least half) and complete the race in a time that I’m satisfied with.  What about you guys? Any fitness goals you are trying to reach now that spring is here and the weather is more favorable?  Tips? Race day meal ideas?  Should I be adding another routine to my training?  I’ll keep you updated on my progress and if you have any tips, feel free to share – I can use all the help I can get.

Below a few pictures from my workouts taken with an iPhone 3Gs and the Hipstamatic app…

Don't worry - I'll catch up soon enough!

One response

  1. What typeface is that? I feel like I should know it….

    April 13, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

