photographs, technology, design & creative inspiration, my thoughts and stuff brought to you by Melissa and the Internet

Diana+ Experimentals

I ordered a Diana+ camera a while back and haven’t really gotten much use out of it – just because I know that being a “toy” camera, all kinds of good and bad stuff can happen to the pictures. However, after finally getting back the one roll it took me a few months to finish and send off for developing, I think I will have to take a day or weekend and shoot with this to see what kind of weird and possibly interesting shots I get. What I captured with this roll seems pretty ordinary and unexciting – but it felt weird aiming a plastic camera at things.  I did manage though, to get a little double exposure in the first shot below!

I’m not going to lie- I forgot to take the cap off several times, and would forget if I had wound the camera up or not in between shots and I probably moved the lever once or twice from “N” (normal) to “B” (bulb) mode. I also kept forgetting about a few other aperture and focus settings. Perhaps this is why I’ll personally keep shooting film for a while – so I can learn to slow down, think about a shot, compose, breathe…you get the point.

The photos were shot with Kodak Portra 800 and developed by The Darkroom. I started a flickr set and will keep populating that in the future.

5 responses

  1. I am planning to buy a Diana + because I’d like to get into film, would you recommend it for somebody who has no experience with film?

    June 13, 2012 at 6:08 am

    • Sure. It is a plastic camera so just keep in mind you will probably see a lot of light leaks. The camera comes with a decent set of instructions- and anything that’s not clear, you can easily find in Google. I actually YouTube’d a few videos for how to load the film ;). If you just want to have fun and see what comes out – go for it.

      If you’re looking to really learn and play with manual settings and focus, you can probably go for a 35mm film camera that has manual controls. They are pretty cheap on eBay, I’ve seen the Canon AE-1 recommended a lot, although I use an older Minolta x-700 my dad had stashed away.

      June 13, 2012 at 9:25 am

      • What exactly is a light leak? and I’ve actually two options that I can afford right now, because I live in UAE it is not easy to get hold of lomo cameras. So one option is Canon eos 3000n or diana. I am kind of bent on both because I wanna try film. Any experience with the aforementioned model?

        June 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

      • Light leaks look like the links below and can happen when light strikes the film and creates reflections or shadows when the photo is developed. After this happens, some people would consider the photo ruined but others think it gives it character.

        You’ll see in my pictures the light leaks are the brighter, orange spots on the photo.
        0803335-R2-069-33
        6388NEG0038.jpg

        And then here as bright white streaks
        http://www.flickr.com/photos/melissajmercado/6232935708/

        I think if I were you I’d go for the EOS. I feel like the Diana is more of a toy (it’s plastic, not very many settings to “learn” with). You Should be able to learn some settings and get some great shots with the EOS. Hope this helps!

        June 13, 2012 at 10:13 am

      • Thanks for such a detailed reply, I really appreciate it! 😀

        June 13, 2012 at 10:23 am

Leave a Reply

